# Canadian Association for Refugee and Forced Migration Studies Annual Report: 2011-12

### **DRAFT**

### In 2011-12, CARFMS Executive set the following priority tasks:

- Preparation and organization of the CARFMS 2012 Annual Conference
- Further development of CARFMS website
- Organization of graduate student essay competition
- Production of the CARFMS Newsletter
- Amending the bylaws to allow CARFMS to be designated officially as an "non-profit" organization
- Development of the Online Research and Teaching Tools and Practitioners Forum Website

## The CARFMS Executive constituted the following committees to accomplish these objectives:

- Graduate Student Essay Competition Committee (Christina Clark-Kazak (lead), Megan Bradley, James Milner, Morgan Poteet)
- 2012 CARFMS Annual Conference Planning Committee (James Simeon (lead), Idil Atak, Jacqueline McAdam, Heather Johnson, Christina Clark-Kazak, Susan McGrath, Michele Millard, Adriann Moss, Jocelyn Kane (Conference Coordinator))
- Annual Conference Abstract Review Committee (Jacqueline McAdam (lead), Idil Atak, Heather Johnson, Gabrielle Lavigne, James Simeon)
- CARFMS Newsletter Committee (Samia Tecle (RA), Michele Millard, James Simeon)
- Website Development Committee (Michele Millard, Evan Leibovitch)
- CARFMS Bylaws Amendment Committee (Heather Johnson (lead), Christina Clark-Kazak, Angus Grant, James Simeon)
- Online Research and Teaching Tools & Practitioners Forum Website Committee (James Simeon (lead), Idil Atak, Andrew Galley, Heather Johnson, in collaboration with Nanette Neuwahl, Giorgia Dona and Effi Voutira)

#### The following objectives in 2011-2012 have been achieved:

#### ANNUAL CONFERENCE

CARFMS 5<sup>th</sup> annual conference, "Restructuring Refuge and Settlement: Responding to the Global Dynamics of Displacement," will take place at Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, May 16<sup>th</sup>-18<sup>th</sup>, 2012. CARFMS was successful in obtaining \$30,000 under a SSHRC grant for conferences and workshops. Additional funds were also raised from various Units within York University as well. Many thanks to the 2012 CARFMS Annual Conference Planning Committee for their tireless efforts on the conference and funding application and to Michele Millard for her assistance on various aspects of conference planning as well as other CARFMS-related matters.

# Canadian Association for Refugee and Forced Migration Studies Annual Report: 2011-12

#### CARFMS ONGOING WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT

The new CARFMS website was launched in December 2011 at <a href="http://carfms.apps01.yorku.ca/about\_us">http://carfms.apps01.yorku.ca/about\_us</a>. The new CARFMS website has a number of improvements in format and layout with links to facebook and other social media. However, its still needs further development in online discussions, postings, a database of academic papers and other materials on refugee and forced migration studies. Many thanks to Michele Millard and Evan Leibovitch for their assistance on the ongoing development of our website.

#### GRADUATE STUDENT ESSAY COMPETITION

Christina Clark-Kazak took the initiative in organizing the 2012 CARFMS Graduate Student Essay Competition. The competition seeks to recognize the most outstanding research produced by graduate students in the field of refugee and forced migration studies. Graduate students whose papers are shortlisted are invited to present their work on a panel at the CARFMS Annual Conference. In cooperation with the Refugee Research Network (RRN), CARFMS provides funding to support the participation of the shortlisted graduate students to present their work at the 2012 CARFMS Annual Conference. The graduate student whose paper is deemed the best will receive a prize of \$300.

In 2012, Christophe Sevigny was named the winner. Other short-listed students were: Bobby Cameron and Josée Daris.

#### **CARFMS NEWSLETTER**

The CARFMS Newsletter was published in January 2012 and is available currently on the CARFMS website at

<u>http://www.carfms.org/system/files/CARFMS\_Winter\_Newsletter%202012\_0.pdf</u>. Many thanks to Samia Tecle, our assigned graduate student researcher, for all her work in producing our Newsletters. Another CARFMS Newsletter is currently in production.

#### **REVISING CARFMS BYLAWS**

Special thanks to Heather Johnson for all of her hard work in putting together the proposed amendments to CARFMS bylaws in order to obtain a formal designation that CARFMS is, in fact, a non-profit organization. These proposed bylaw amendments will be considered in detail by the CARFMS Bylaws Amendment Committee. The CARFMS Executive will make, in due course, recommendations for bylaw amendments at our the Annual General Meeting.

# Canadian Association for Refugee and Forced Migration Studies Annual Report: 2011-12

## ONLINE RESEARCH AND TEACHING TOOLS & PRACTITIONERS FORUM WEBSITE

This CARFMS based initiative has developed into a collaborative international partnership with the International Association for the Study of Forced Migration (IASFM) and, specifically, its Theorizing Forced Migration Working Group that is led by Professors Giorgia Dona and Efthiha Voutira. Professors Nanette Neuwahl and Idil Atak, Faculty of Law, University of Montreal, are also collaborating with us on this research project. The pilot ORTT & PF website will be presented at the 2012 CARFMS Annual Conference on Thursday, May 17<sup>th</sup>. It has also received the full endorsement of the RRN at its recent annual meeting.

### **Executive Committee Members (2011-12):**

- o President: James C. Simeon (LA&PS, York University)
- o Past President: Christina Clark-Kazak (Glendon College, York University)
- o Secretary: Adriann Moss
- o Treasurer: Morgan Poteet (Mount Allison University)
- Practitioner and Advocacy Partnership Officer: Angus Grant (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University)
- o Policy Partnership Officer: Idil Atak (McGill University)
- o Communication Officer: Andrew Galley (McMaster University)
- o Events Officer: Jacqueline McAdam
- o Student Affairs Officer: Anne-Claire Gayet (McGill University)
- o Student Directors: Alexandra Ricard-Guay (McGill University)

Heather Brady

Gabrielle Lavigne

o Directors-at-Large: Susan McGrath (York University)

Heather Johnson (Queen's University, Belfast, Ireland)

CARFMS Secretariat - Centre for Refugee Studies, York University

Michele Millard, Coordinator